Office of Sponsored Programs (OSP)

OSP Staff

OSP Staff Proposal Review Assignments by Department (.xls)

OSP Staff Post Award Fund Assignments (.xls)

OSP Staff Contracts Assignments (.xls)

 

   

Contact Information

Responsibilities

Chris G. Green, CPA
Senior Director

(210) 567-4938 greenc@uthscsa.edu
Oversight of day to day office operations. Approval authority on all proposal transmittals, agreements and contracts. Administrative approval on various internally required documents.
Lori Guzman
Office Manager
(210)567-3155
guzmanl@uthscsa.edu
Supervises office administrative support staff. Reviews and approves Project/Grant Activation notices (PGAs) and Journal Entries (JEs) for all 48001, 48002, 48006, and 48901 fund groups. Responsible for awards from institutional grants, UT System, Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board (THECB). Reporting Coordinator for ARRA Section 1512 Quarterly Report.
Pamela Cardosa-Bravo
(210) 567-2337 cardosabravo@uthscsa.edu
Processes deposits for all restricted and other funds, gifts, etc. Establishes, maintains, and distributes Project Grant Activations (PGA) for all 48001, 48002, 48006 and 48901 fund groups; pre & post award data entry for all Clinical Trial Agreements.
Thelma Benavides
(210) 567-2331 benavidest@uthscsa.edu
Prepares transmittal documentation for grants and contracts; mails completed, approved applications to sponsors; distributes reports and Project/Grant Activation notices (PGA's); pre & post award data entry.
Nahutyl Cobos
(210) 567-2302 cobosn@uthscsa.edu
Prepares transmittal documentation for grants and contracts; mails completed, approved applications to sponsors; distributes reports and Project/Grant Activation notices (PGA's); pre & post award data entry.
      

Pre-Award

 
Valerie Hutchison
Grants and Contracts Manager
(210) 567-1652 hutchisonv@uthscsa.edu
Responsible for all pre-award functions. Reviews and processes all incoming transfer proposals. Assists faculty with pre-award proposal submission issues. Coordinator for proposal preparation training. Maintains OSP website. Secondary contact for time & effort certification.
Mari Martinez
(210) 567-2330 martinezm47@uthscsa.edu
Reviews and processes proposals for Barshop, CHA, Cancer Center, RII, the School of Dentistry, and the Basic Sciences Departments of the School of Medicine.
Heather Koenig
(210) 567-1894 koenigh@uthscsa.edu
Reviews and processes proposals for GCCRI, IIMS, Biggs, the School of Health Professions, the School of Nursing, and the School of Medicine except Basic Sciences Departments.
Chris Martinez
(210) 567-4941 martinezc27@uthscsa.edu
Maintains funding source information including selected application packets and forms. Assists faculty with establishment of GENIUS/SMARTS investigator profiles. Processes all NIH Just-In-Time (JIT) requests. Contact for eRA Commons registration. Reviews all NIH Progress Report submissions.
      

Post-Award

 
Carolina A. Taboada
Grants and Contracts Manager

(210) 567-2341 taboadac@uthscsa.edu
Responsible for all post-award functions. Reviews and approves Project/Grant Activation notices (PGA's), Financial Status Reports (FSR's) and Journal Entries (JE's). Allowability of costs review and petty cash approvals. Responsible for awards from local sponsors - fund groups 43070-43079, and 43083.
Laura A. Barnum
(210) 567-2336 barnumlb@uthscsa.edu
Reviews and processes agreements. Responsible for awards from federal sponsors - fund groups 41009-41015, 41017, 41021, and 41031; state sponsors - fund group 42042; private sponsors - fund group 44084.
Dennis Shannon
(210) 567-0206 shannond3@uthscsa.edu
Reviews and processes agreements. Responsible for awards from federal sponsors - fund groups 41016, 41019, 41030; state sponsors - fund groups 42043, 42045, and 42943.
Sheri Koehn
(210) 567-2335 koehnsl@uthscsa.edu
Reviews and processes agreements. Responsible for federal pass through awards in fund groups 42917, 42942,43917-43978, 44097, and 44917; federal clinical studies in fund groups 48007-48017. Contact for time & effort certification.
Suzie Herrera
(210) 567-4079 herreraad@uthscsa.edu
Reviews and processes agreements. Responsible for awards from federal sponsors - fund groups 41002-41006, 41020, 41022-41024, and 41029; private sponsors - fund groups 44080-44082, 44086-44090, 44093, and 44095.
Alexandra Chavez
(210) 567-2308 chaveza4@uthscsa.edu
Reviews and processes agreements. Responsible for awards from state sponsors - fund group 42044. Contact for time & effort certification.
Delilah Castro
(210) 567-2338 castrod4@uthscsa.edu
Reviews and processes agreements. Responsible for awards from private sponsors - fund groups 44092 and 44096.
 
 

Clinical Trial and Other Sponsored Agreements

Rae Schofield
(210) 567-2332
schofield@uthscsa.edu
Reviews and processes all Clinical Trial Agreements (CTA) and clinical Confidential Disclosure Agreements (CDA), Research Agreements, Testing Agreements and Subawards for select departments in the School of Medicine and other/non-academic programs.
David Zachgo
(210) 567-3001
zachgo@uthscsa.edu
Reviews and processes all outgoing subaward agreements for all departments. Responsible for awards from federal sponsors - fund group 41025.
Beth Hooks
(210) 567-2333 hookse@uthscsa.edu
Reviews and processes all Clinical Trial Agreements (CTA) and clinical Confidential Disclosure Agreements (CDA), Research Agreements, Testing Agreements and Subawards for select departments in the School of Medicine, and select other/non-academic departments.
Bryan Reilly
(210) 567-3008
reillyb@uthscsa.edu
Reviews and processes all Material Transfer Agreements (MTA) for all departments, as well as Clinical Trial Agreements (CTA) and clinical Confidential Disclosure Agreements (CDA), Research Agreements, Testing Agreements and Subawards for the School of Dentistry, School of Health Professions, School of Nursing, and select other/non-academic departments.